Ruinart is the oldest champagne house, having been founded in 1729 by Nicolas Ruinart. He was inspired by his visionary uncle Dom Thierry Ruinart and father Nicolas, building up this champagne venture until in 1735 it became his sole business. Throughout the house's history Ruinart has placed excellence in the utmost importance and in doing so has upheld the dreams of Dom Thierry and to commemorate Dom Thierry's the flagship wine was named after him in 1959.
One of the secrets behind Ruinart's unique taste is its chalk pits that were first acquired in 1782. They keep the champagne at the ideal temperature and humidity, perfectly encapsulating Ruinart's search for perfection. Ruinart is dedicated to using the delicate Chardonnay grape; expertly blending it to achieve the unique 'Ruinart taste'.